Whether you’re entering your first year, have transferred from another post-secondary institution, or are preparing to graduate, an academic advisor offers personalized and confidential guidance to help you succeed. In the College of Agriculture and Bioresources, academic advising is carried out by AgBio Student Services and AgBio faculty advisors.

AgBio Student Services

AgBio Student Services Undergraduate Advisors:
  • provide advice and guidance to students throughout their first year of study in the College of AgBio
  • help students strategically choose a major
  • advise on college regulations and university policies
  • ensure students satisfy promotion and graduation standards
  • assist students facing academic difficulty
  • advocate for appropriate resources for students
  • advise incoming and outgoing Study Abroad exchange students
  • provide advice and guidance to transfer students
  • provide culturally sensitive guidance and support to Aboriginal and international students

Amie Shirkie, Director, Academic and Student Affairs
Room 2D30, Agriculture Building 
(306) 966-4062 
 agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

Kelly Delorme-Greyeyes, Academic Programs Assistant 
Room 2D29, Agriculture Building 
(306) 966-6826 
 kelly.delorme@usask.ca

Mary Stirling, Recruitment, Academic Advising Officer
Room 2D30, Agriculture Building
(306) 966-6646
 agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

All general inquiries can be directed to  agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

Faculty and Department Advising

Why should I visit with a faculty advisor?

Once you have declared your major, you should contact the faculty advisor for your area of study.

AgBio faculty advisors:

  • provide advice and guidance to students who have chosen their major
  • provide guidance in course selection and ensure that students are meeting their program requirements
  • connect students to faculty experts and industry connections in their field of interest
  • serve as teachers and mentors and give advice on professional development and employment opportunities
Rob Roy, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C74, Agriculture Building 
966-4029
 rob.roy@usask.ca
Art Davis
Room 225, Biology Building
966-4484 
 art.davis@usask.ca

Murray Drew, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 6D62, Agriculture Building
966-2367
  murray.drew@usask.ca

Natacha Hogan, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 6D66, Agriculture Building 
966-6862
 natacha.hogan@usask.ca

Greg Penner, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 6D18, Agriculture Building
966-4219
 greg.penner@usask.ca

Colin Peterson, Departmental Assistant 
Room 6D16, Agriculture Building
966-4165
colin.peterson@usask.ca

Colin Laroque, Professor and Academic Advisor  
Room 5C10, Agriculture Building
966-2493
 colin.laroque@usask.ca

Michael Nickerson, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3E28, Agriculture Building
966-5030
 michael.nickerson@usask.ca 

Xiao Qiu, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4E14, Agriculture Building
966-2181
xiao.qiu@usask.ca
Melissa Arcand, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 5E78, Agriculture Building
966-2562
 melissa.arcand@usask.ca

Agronomy (Degree and Diploma)

Krista Wilde, Lecturer and Academic Advisor
Room 2C08, Agriculture Building
966-5868
 krista.wilde@usask.ca

Applied Plant Ecology

Eric Lamb, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4D68, Agriculture Building
966-1799
 eric.lamb@usask.ca

Horticulture Science

Grant Wood, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4D78, Agriculture Building
966-5586
grant.wood@usask.ca

Crop Science

Sean Prager, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C80, Agriculture Building
966-8359
sean.prager@usask.ca
Resource Science
Tom Yates, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 5C16, Agriculture Building
966-4010

Resource Economics and Policy
Rob Roy, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C74, Agriculture Building 
966-4029
 rob.roy@usask.ca
Katherine Stewart, Assistant Professor
Room 5E74, Agriculture Building
966-1916
 katherine.stewart@usask.ca