Academic Advising

AgBio Student Services Undergraduate Advisors:
  • provide advice and guidance to students throughout their first year of study in the College of AgBio
  • help students strategically choose a major
  • advise on College Regulations and university policies
  • ensure students satisfy promotion and graduation standards
  • assist students facing academic difficulty
  • advocate for appropriate resources for students
  • advise incoming and outgoing Study Abroad exchange students
  • provide advice and guidance to transfer students
  • provide culturally sensitive guidance and support to Aboriginal and international students

All general inquiries can be directed to  agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

AgBio Undergraduate Advisors

Amie Shirkie, Director, Academic and Student Affairs
Room 2D30, Agriculture Building
(306) 966-4062 
 agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

Kelly Delorme-Greyeyes, Academic Programs Assistant
Room 2D29, Agriculture Building
(306) 966-6826
 kelly.delorme@usask.ca

Mary Stirling, Recruitment, Academic Advising Officer
Room 2D30, Agriculture Building
(306) 966-6646
agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

All general inquiries can be directed to  agbio.studentservices@usask.ca

Faculty and Department Advising

Once you have declared your major, you should contact the faculty advisor for your area of study:

AgBio faculty advisors

  • provide advice and guidance to students who have chosen their major
  • provide guidance in course selection and ensure that students are meeting their program requirements
  • connect students to faculty experts and industry connections in their field of interest
  • serve as teachers and mentors and give advice on professional development and employment opportunities
Rob Roy, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C74, Agriculture Building 
966-4029
 rob.roy@usask.ca
Art Davis
Room 225, Biology Building
966-4484 
 art.davis@usask.ca

Murray Drew, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 6D62, Agriculture Building
966-2367
  murray.drew@usask.ca

Greg Penner, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 6D18, Agriculture Building
966-4219
 greg.penner@usask.ca

Colin Peterson, Departmental Assistant 
Room 6D16, Agriculture Building
966-4165
colin.peterson@usask.ca
Colin Laroque, Professor and Academic Advisor  
Room 5C10, Agriculture Building
966-2493
 colin.laroque@usask.ca

Michael Nickerson, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3E28, Agriculture Building
966-5030
 michael.nickerson@usask.ca 

Xiao Qiu, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4E14, Agriculture Building
966-2181
xiao.qiu@usask.ca
Melissa Arcand, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 5E78, Agriculture Building
966-2562
 melissa.arcand@usask.ca

Agronomy (Degree)


Ravindra (Ravi)  Chibbar, Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4D04, Agriculture Building
966-4969
ravi.chibbar@usask.ca

Agronomy (Diploma)


Krista Wilde, Lecturer and Academic Advisor
Room 2C08, Agriculture Building
966-5868
 krista.wilde@usask.ca

Applied Plant Ecology

Eric Lamb, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 4D68, Agriculture Building
966-1799
 eric.lamb@usask.ca

Horticulture Science

Kate Congreves, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 2C18, Agriculture Building
966-8001
 kate.congreves@usask.ca

Crop Science

Sean Prager, Assistant Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C80, Agriculture Building
966-8359
sean.prager@usask.ca

Resource Science

Tom Yates, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 5C16, Agriculture Building
966-4010

Resource Economics and Policy

Rob Roy, Associate Professor and Academic Advisor
Room 3C74, Agriculture Building 
966-4029
 rob.roy@usask.ca
Katherine Stewart, Assistant Professor
Room 5E74, Agriculture Building
966-1916
 katherine.stewart@usask.ca