Picture of                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    D. Brian Fowler

D. Brian Fowler Emeritus Professor

3C12 - Agriculture Building

Research Area(s)

  • Conservation production systems and production
  • Management
  • Genetics and breeding of winter wheat and rye


Plant Sciences


  • Ph.D., University of Manitoba
  • M.Sc., University of Saskatchewan
  • B.Sc., University of Saskatchewan

Selected Publications

Fowler DB, N'Diaye A, Laudencia-Chingcuanco D, Pozniak CJ (2016) Quantitative Trait Loci Associated with Phenological Development, Low-Temperature Tolerance, Grain Quality, and Agronomic Characters in Wheat (Triticum aestivum L.). PLoS ONE 11(3): e0152185. doi:10.1371/journalpone.0152185

Mohsen Hosseini, Reza Maali-Amiri, Siroos Mahfoozi, David Brian Fowler, Rahmat Mohammadi 2016. Developmental regulation of metabolites and low temperature tolerance in lines of crosses between spring and winter wheat. Acta Physiologiae Plantarum 38(4). DOI:10.1007/s11738-016-2103-0